Interview With Aspiring Author Carol Campbell

Carol Campbell

Interview slots are now closed until September.

Welcome Carol Campbell, aspiring author to discuss her writing process. You can find Carol on her wordpress blog, Pinterest, Google+ or Facebook.

Me turned right

What are you currently writing/working on?

I try to write at least two posts on my blog per day and I reblog other writers often. Right now, I am working on a book of poetry and short stories with a spiritual, thriving in life theme. Some will be about the struggles that life presents but the emphasis will be reminders that we can thrive, no matter what the circumstances.

When and how do your characters come to you? Is it in a moment of inspiration, an epiphany? Or do they grow in some murky recess of your mind?

My characters and themes come from so many sources. God, Nature, music, other poetry and prayers often inspire me deeply also. I love epiphanies! The “aha” moments visit me quite often.

There’s an acceptance that authors often write in traits or characteristics of themselves into their work, is there any part of you in any of your characters?

Definitely! While I can and have written solely based on research and imagination, there are still parts of me in there. That’s why I write. To share myself with others in the hope of making a connection.

How do you develop your characters? Do you let them brew in your subconscious, use character interview sheets, or something completely different?

When I write short stories, the characters just arrive in my consciousness and I flesh them out, so to speak. Even in poetry, my imagination goes beyond the confines of the poem.

Are you a planner, or free writer?

Mostly a free writer. I think though there is always some planning needed. Organizing and presentation are important to communicating effectively.

When you are developing a book, what tools or techniques do you use, e.g. timelines, mood boards, character interviews, scraps of notes?

This is my weakness in getting going on my book. I have started, but I get caught up and don’t plan enough time to do meaningful work. Have some ideas on how to get over this and am planning to implement them next week.

Has your technique changed over time?

Definitely. I started out being kind of sloppy as I was so happy to be putting something out there, after 56 years of writing secretly, that I’d let my nervousness get in the way of re-reading and spell checking etc. Have become calmer and more deliberate now.

Where do you draw inspiration from? Do you actively look for it?

God, life, spirituality and I am very inspired by nature and the possible metaphors it offers.

What kind of an environment do you write in? Day/night/silence/music/desk/sofa etc

Daytime especially. Sometimes with music and sometimes in silence. I can’t really tell you why. I guess it’s a matter of my mood. Good question. O! Positively must be near a window or outside. 

The publishing industry is in decline across the board. Do you think things like the Kindle are bridging the gap, is there still the same love for the written word, or is it being diluted by the modern obsession with tech and gadgets? 

Wow! I really believe that words are being relegated to technology, unfortunately. All forms of the word. Written, read and even spoken. In public, I see people together but not conversing. Their attention is completely on their phones or I-pads. That’s interesting, “I” pads. I meaning ego. Perhaps?

50 Shades of Grey author EL James was reported to make around £100k a day at the book’s height, and the upcoming film will make her millions. Do you find it a shame that the most lucrative and famous book franchise of the moment is one so widely derided for its lack of literary value? Or is it just good to have a book going mainstream?  

My answer will be controversial. I so believe in free speech as our right, however, I long for the day when we will write everything with a spiritual construct. Even sexual relationships. To read a book like that, I believe, is unnecessary to our purpose on this planet. Especially now, when there are so many things that need our attention and healing. To add fuel to this raging abuse of women all over this planet just doesn’t make sense to me. I don’t condemn anyone reading or writing it, I just ask the question.

If a fascist regime was burning the worlds libraries, what books would you save?

I am a member of the Baha’I faith so I would save our most holy book. The book of laws, KItab’i’Aqdas.

What do you wish you knew about the publishing process before you started?

The cost to be an Indie writer.

What is the best advice you could give to aspiring novelists like me? Or what was the best advice you were ever given?

Keep on keepin’ on.

I am finding more and more, that writers often have several creative outlets. Do you? Or is writing your one source

I like to craft and dabble in abstract drawing.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you be?

A musician. Can’t carry a tune though!

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

From a very early age. I think before I was six.

What authors do you admire, and why?

I admire Clarissa Pinkola Estes and Maya Angelou because of the depth of their soulful writings.

To find out more about Carol read her Author Bio:

I am a fifty six year old woman and sometimes I feel that age and sometimes, I feel like an energetic five year old. I consider myself a seeker and really have always been that way. Even as a child, I was fascinated by all things about God and faith. Through various circumstances in my life, I have learned that what I always believed about the true power of our souls to conquer adversity are indeed, true. I have forever looked for creative ways to communicate but writing is the spark that ignites my heart. Most of my life was dedicated to early childhood training through the Montessori method. I tried to ring her ideas to the day care setting in the spirit of her original work with the abject poor in Italy. 

4 comments

Leave a comment