Writespiration #97 52 Weeks in 52 Words – Week 1

writespiration-2017Welcome back folks. I stopped Writespirations back in November, a few short of 100, and I knew then I couldn’t just leave it 3 short. But the break did me good, and now I am ready to rock and roll with a whole new challenge this year.

This year there will be 52 challenges over 52 weeks and your challenge is to write your story using the theme/prompt and write it in just 52 words…. EXACTLY, no more, no less.

The art of being concise is nothing if not a muscle flexing ‘write’ bicep curling device. But I wanted to add to that challenge which is why, you have to be exact too. Because there are 52 challenges over the year, THAT’s I want you to write your entries in EXACTLY 52 words.

Each week I will give you a prompt of some variety and then you submit your entries and I post them the following week with the new prompt. You’ll have until Sunday to enter each week.

This year, I am trying to cut back the time I spend blogging to make sure I give as much time as I can to writing books. So I wanted to let y’all know, that I will read every single entry, but I may not comment on each one.

So without further ado, the first writespiration of 2017, 52 words exactly and you need to include the phrase…

The timer started

Somewhere in your 52 words.

Good luck.

3 comments

  1. I’m going to try to keep up with these and continue doing them! So, here’s a pretty strange one for you:

    The timer started and it was only then she realized two minutes was longer than she thought. She peered into the dimly-lit oven, waiting. When it finally went off, the cupcakes still weren’t done. Back in the oven they went, and she realized it had been the alarm for her birth control.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I am so glad you’re going to join in.

      I love this entry! Totally out of the blue ending but I LOVE it.

      I think I sorted out the ‘likes’ and subscription issues, this self-hosted thing is new and I hadn’t enabled all the right buttons (which were automatically enabled on the other site)

      Like

Leave a Reply

