Five Day Photo Challenge 3 – Water

IMG_2315

This brings another Five Day (week) Photo Challenge photo. Ali Isaac tagged me to do this challenge, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it so far. If you haven’t already, you should check out her blog, it’s awesome.

My writespiration a couple of weeks ago was on the theme of Elements – Fire specifically. And all because I am research the elements for my novel. So I thought whilst I was on the theme, I would capture ‘water’.

Out I trudged into the rain, macro lens in hand and clicked away. This is what I got:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We’re meant to do a story with each set of photos, I’m yet to do one, so thought I ought to at least attempt something.

Battle, Victory, Loss by Sacha Black

The breeze licked at the shore forcing ripples to drift away from the bank. Each one took another memory into the river. Another flash of my blade slicing through soft flesh, another reminder of death and war and loss.

I wondered how far we were from the ocean and how long it would take for my memories to swim their way to the depths of the sea. I hoped it wouldn’t be long, I didn’t want the flashbacks any more.

I leant down and dipped my hands in the river flinching as ice cold water touched my skin. I washed the sweat and crusted blood off my fingers making the water as murky as my morals felt.

“Are you ok Ma’am?” Jeremiah’s voice jolted me out of my mindless washing.

I bit my lip. I could taste salt. Bitter sweat left from another long battle. Was I ok? No. Not really. But I had to be. I still had to get the army out of here and back to our HQ. So I nodded.

“I’m fine, Jeremiah. Have the men eaten? They need to rest and refil before our hike back to camp.”

He shook his head, “I’ll see to it Ma’am…” he shifted on the spot, hesitant to leave.

“What’s wrong?”

“It’s just, we won. I know we won. But why doesn’t it feel like a victory?”

My mouth smiled, but my eyes filled with sadness. I stared at Jeremiah, with his baby blue eyes and skin free from age. He was too young to have given his life to the army. It wasn’t like the world before. Not now. Now we had to fight for everything. He would never get to live a full life, never have a family. He probably wouldn’t even make it to the end of his first year as a soldier.

“Jeremiah, war is only about power and loss. You only get power through everyone elses loss. It’s just unfortunate that the president doesn’t realise once he gets all the power he wanted, he too will have lost everything he needed. There are no victories in war, Jeremiah. Death isn’t victorious. Murder, isn’t victorious. You don’t feel like we did anything good, because we didn’t. We are just pawns in this war.”

I saw his eyes well as he sprinted away. Maybe I was too harsh, but this was the way the world was now, and I had an army to get to safety.

***

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days. (Sorry I’m cheating and going to do it once a week!)
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance! This week I nominate D Wallace Peach because I love her words and her fiery photos she posted recently.

8 comments

Leave a Reply

